Welcome to the website of
Part of the Crowle Group of Parishes
This Stone now stands on a plinth at the west end of the church where it was erected in 1919. Previous to this time it was used as a lintel over the west door by the Norman Masons who built the church about 1150 A.D. It is doubtful that it would have remained intact to the present day, but being part of the west wall for 800 years ensured its survival.
The runic stone, which is nearly 7 feet high 16 inches broad and 9 inches thick, is carved on all its four sides. This stone is of great antiquity for the Danish King Canute forbade the carving of runic stones after 1000 A.D. It is the oldest surviving carved relic in this area and with its inscription is quite unique. The stone could have been part of a cross or greater memorial erected by the Danes for at various times, antiquarians have given opinions on the carving. However, they do not seem to have been able to understand its real meaning but all agree it must be well over a thousand years old.